Those First Steps

Here I am, finally taking my first steps into the blogosphere as a blogger myself. And I am already starting to tremble.

Already?

Yes, already.

It is always the beginning that is the hard part when writing, as you feel lost and have no clue about what to write. You also feel tense and try to be near perfect in every way possible. Furthermore, it does not help that introducing myself has never been my strong side. So let us skip the formalities and talk about the blog itself first.

Since anime is one of my main interests together with writing, it is no surprise that I have decided to try out anime blogging myself after having read some great anime blogs out there. The name Anime Viking originates from the fact that many outsiders tend to think of Vikings when they hear about Sweden, where I live, with it being a part of our history. A rather lazy fitting choice, is it not?

One thing you should know, is that this blog is a part of a school project I am currently doing about blogs. This will not affect you readers in any way, as I will only analyze the activity and other statistics. This project will end around April next year (2012), but that does not necessarily mean the end of this blog. Perhaps there will be changes, a co-blogger would be great fun, but, as previously mentioned, it will not be any “end of the world”-scenario. The Mayas are in charge of that.

Anime Viking will feature editorial and episodic posts as many other anime blogs, so it will not be anything out of the ordinary, at least not for now. I always welcome discussions and if you have ever wanted to try out writing a guest post, feel free to ask about it! One thing I would personally love in the future, is some kind of group discussion about a certain topic or episode, featuring other persons! I am open to all kind of ideas, so ask away!

My history with anime is still quite young, despite having watched it my whole life, as my first “true” encounter with anime was during the fall season last year (2010), which was when I started to follow news, different seasons and such. Before this year I had watched less than 100 series, including both shorts and movies, and currently my amount of completed ones are around 171! Such a nerd…

But before ending this post, I have to tell you at least something about myself. So, in short, an 18 year old from Sweden who loves anime and cats. The silent and observing type of person.

And so, it is finally time to start blogging. Who knows how it will go.

44 thoughts on “Those First Steps

  1. draggle says:

    Congrats on starting your blog! Finding what to write about is hard, what works for me is to get into a routine and just write.

    I thought Vikings were from Norway though. Sweden is where they eat Swedish meatballs and fish.

  2. Seinime says:

    Write about anything. Let the words flow. Don’t limit yourself in anyway. Looking forward to some nice posts! Welcome to the aniblogosphere. 😀

  3. inushinde says:

    I think Norway when it comes to Vikings, but you can blame that on the music that I listen to.

    Anyway, on topic, here’s to your blog! May it live long and prosper.

  4. SnippetTee says:

    Congratulations! I always consider the first step as the biggest step in doing something. I hope you have fun in blogging and I look forward reading your future posts. Good luck!

  5. Yerocha says:

    Well then, I’ll be looking forward to your upcoming posts.

    And wow, you already have more completed shows than me (I think I’m at 142).

    • Marow says:

      A lot of those are shorts or OVAs, so it’s not that much with that in mind. I mostly watch one cour too, so I don’t have a big episode count.

      Watched one of your reviews a week ago or so, it was nice!

  6. Miss Pink says:

    Welcome to the world of anime blogging! I began watching anime around the same time as you (December 2010) and then began blogging about it shortly after that. It’s so addicting! (Both anime and blogging!) Good luck, and I look forward to reading more of your posts in the future! 🙂

    • Marow says:

      Haha, yes, it is addicting. I’m in some kind of anime-frenzy right now. I need to play some more Team Fortress 2…

      Thank you for commenting!

  7. lostty says:

    I like anime and cats, too! We already have so much in common! 😀

    So no matter what, with your school project, you’ll at least have to keep this blog for year? Muhahaha, there’s no turning back now! lol, I’m not trying to freak you out or anything, we’re all nice people! The first month is always intimidating, but you’ll get the hang of running your own blog soon enough.

    I’ll be looking forward to your posts, good luck!

  8. Mira says:

    Whoa, even though you started watching anime more recently than I have you’ve already seen 171?! I’ve only seen 172 although I guess that comes with me quitting anime for a certain period of my life. 😄

    Anyway, congratulations for starting your own blog! Many people might not understand this but it actually does take a lot of thinking and consideration to start one. Good luck!

    • Marow says:

      Hm, maybe I wasn’t clear in my post, but I have watched anime my whole life, but not on a regular basis. Let’s say I had watched about 70-80 before fall 2010. Now that number is dubbled. Still, it’s a lot :p

      I guess it depends on what kind of blog you do. If it’s the “today I xxx”, it’s not that hard. But if you want to talk about a specific subject, it probably is.

  9. Persocom says:

    Welcome to the blogosphere ^^ Interesting to see that you’re doing this as a school project of sorts. Well, I wish you luck and I’ll add you to my blogroll so I can check back to see what you have to post!

    • Marow says:

      Thanks, I’ll add you in return then 🙂

      I thought it would be more fun to do a project you enjoy… so, it’s a win-win situation. I have fun, I get grades!

  10. feal87 says:

    Congrats man! Welcome to this little world. 😀

  11. marthaurion says:

    hey…any friend of feal’s is a friend of mine
    welcome welcome

  12. For a long time, I’ve been seeing you commenting around several blogs that I frequent, so I’m glad to see that you’ve got your own blog set up and I can finally have a chance to get to know you better! ^_^

    Have fun blogging, and I look forward to your future posts!

  13. TWWK says:

    Good luck! I look forward to reading your posts! 🙂

  14. Ty-chama says:

    Hey Marower, AkatsukigirlTy here! Well done on starting your very own blog! I enjoyed reading your first post and will definitely look forward to reading some more in the near future. Your writing has a hint of bashfulness about it, here’s hoping you’ll gain some confidence over time! : )

    • Marow says:

      Nice, thanks for reading! 🙂
      I consider myself a shy person, so maybe that is why you think so. Didn’t think it would it would be apparent in my text, but obviously I was wrong. It will wear off later on, I’m sure!

  15. Ty-chama says:

    When you read to the extent I do, second-guessing a writer’s personality just by reading their work becomes second nature, don’t blame yourself! I like that your personality shines through in your writing, it makes your work distinctive!

  16. Seibun says:

    I wish you luck on your blogging endeavors. 🙂

    Anime Viking is an awesome name. My ancestry is mostly English and Danish, but I couldn’t quite name my blog Anime ‘subjugated native English from the East Anglia Danelaw area’. 😛

    And I know what it’s like doing a blog for school… X-x Bloody IT coursework.

    • Marow says:

      Haha, that would be a funny name though 😛

      Actually, this has nothing to do with an IT course! Here in Sweden, you have to do a project when you’re in the third and last year of upper secondary school. It also has to be connected to your chosen programme.

      I read the Social Science Programme and I decided to do a project about blogs in our society. As a fun part of it, I decided to create an anime blog! I would do it anyway, so it was two birds with one stone!

  17. Yi says:

    A new addition to the aniblogosphere. And a lovely one at that! I really look forward to much more of your stuffs. ^ ^

  18. Overlord-G says:

    From what I’ve seen, it’s a good start so far, and it’s awesome that your project’s deadline is on the same month as my blog’s anniversary. anyway best of luck and a late welcome to the blogosphere dood.

  19. […] only four days more days I will celebrate my two-month anniversary of blogging. So far, it has been a rather successful blog in my opinion. It has not been world-breaking, but it […]

  20. […] I today look back at my very first blog post here on Anime Viking, I barely recognize my old self. It was a very shaky and insecure […]

  21. John Sato says:

    I figured if I’m gonna start commenting, I should do it from the beginning. It’s taken me far too long to get here, Marow, but at last I made it. I’m glad to see that you’ve made it so far beyond this post. Keep up your good work, now that the project has ended!

  22. […] one year ago I took my very first steps into the anime blogosphere as a blogger. And as of today, dear readers, Anime Viking has reached […]

  23. […] become two years old. Two years! It is hard to believe I was in my final year of high school when I started this blog. Certainly it does not feel like such a long time has […]

  24. […] think that three years have actually passed since I first started Anime Viking. It has been a long journey coupled with both joy and sadness, but ultimately every […]

What Do You Think?

