12 Days of Christmas 2011 – #01 – Aria

“The gentle wind brushing against my cheeks…

While rocking to the sound of the waves,

I can feel my body relaxing.

I close my eyes, and can see…

The direction the wind is taking.

Now let’s row, towards the shining waves.

A smile is immediately brought to my face.

Hey, tell me…

Can this yearning be healed by the wind…

As the undine takes me to your side?”

Undine by Yui Makino

Yes, yes it can be healed!

Aria follows the story of a young gondolier named Akari who, together with her friends Aika and Alice, strives to become an Undine, gondoliers who guide visitors around the city. It takes place on the planet Aqua, former Mars, and in a city called Neo-Venezia, a replica of Venezia.

I finished this wonderful series in the end of summer.

Aria the Animation
Aria the Natural
Aria the Natural Special
Aria the OVA: Arietta
Aria the Origination
Aria the Origination Special
Aria the Origination Picture Drama

62 episodes later.

I still cry.

Aria is not like every other Slice of Life out there. It is unique. It is harmony. It the true masterpiece of the anime industry.

You do not agree with my last statement?

Then watch it.

Aria is definitely not for everyone. The setting is a utopia where everyone is happy and the relaxing atmosphere is so thick that you will not be able to cut through it with a knife. People who demands action or cannot enjoy the beautiful will find nothing of worth here. And it makes me feel genuinely sad. I wish everyone had the chance to enjoy Aria.

When you watch Aria, you become one with the world. It is not only Akari’s journey. It is yours too. Neo-Venezia is such a wonderful place that I actually wish it existed. I would move there any day. The city itself becomes one of the main characters. And I now want to visit Venezia.

Aria is the hope of the anime industry.

It is a life-changing experience.

Euforia.

Make sure to read Inushinde’s post about Aria too!

11 thoughts on “12 Days of Christmas 2011 – #01 – Aria

  1. Yerocha says:

    I’ve only watched the first season so far, but I really began to enjoy this series. It hasn’t been quite the epic series that some people have described it as, but I’ve also been told the other seasons are better, so I suppose that could be it.

    I also read a little of Amanchu by the same author. It has a similar feel, and the quite world works really well there.

    • Marow says:

      It’s not an “epic” at all. It just “is”. And that makes it so good. Aria isn’t even trying to force the viewer, it only does its own thing. It’s natural.

      Also, it only gets better and better in my opinion. So make sure to watch the rest if you can 🙂

  2. inushinde says:

    Of all the series that I’ve watched, Aria is one of the few that I’ve had nothing but unabashed praise for, albeit with a gigantic asterisk at the end explaining why. It’s liable to make one comatose from how distinctly unexciting the whole affair is, but I mean that in the best possible way.
    I honestly wish more people would give it a chance. I mean it’s hardly perfect, and it doesn’t make good marathon or group-watching fare, but everybody deserves to experience it at least once.

    If there could be one anime most likely to start a cult, it would easily be this one.

  3. feal87 says:

    Aria is a classic, one of the best anime of all time. End of the story…:P

  4. […] really, this is a vain attempt to differentiate myself from Marower, who had the sheer audacity to steal my post idea before it even crossed my mind. So yes, that clumsy preface is my short way of saying that Aria is […]

  5. The show does wind it’s way deep into you and the way it soothes and heals is just so delightful. I am often struck by how well the show carried itself to the point in Origination where pretty much every episode was better than the one that came before it.

    Also, the music! The soundtrack is nothing short of a masterpiece. The Choro Club and Takeshi Senoo certainly know how to wring out the emotional content of the scenes through their guitar and piano music!

    • Marow says:

      Yes, when you thought it couldn’t get any better in Origination, it did. Every single episode. My favorite episode from the franchise has to be episode 9 in Origination. That episode had such a great build-up. I lost it pretty fast when I realized what was about to happen. And then it did happen, but with a twist. Oh… I want to experience it again… wonderful harmony indeed.

      The soundtrack is superb! I am thinking of watching the shows that they have been involved in, just for the music.

      Speaking of music, I have stumbled upon your blog a few times. Very interesting to read about music! I never thought it would be interesting, but it is 🙂

What Do You Think?

