Blog Carnival – What makes a 10/10 Anime? – Roundup

Originally, I planned to create a huge roundup post, delving into and discussing each participant’s posts in this Blog Carnival. Since I am bringing this up, you might have already guessed that I will not do so. Instead, there will be some short thoughts about the project itself.

Roundup posts by participants – 14

Ace Railgun by AceRailgun
Anime B&B by Marina
Anime Viking by Marow
Draggle’s Anime Blog by Draggle
Ephemeral Dreams by Ephemeral Dreamer
Hachimitsu by Mira
Leap250’s Blog by Leap250
Lemmas and Submodalities by SnippetTee
Listless Ink by Yi
Mainichi Anime Yume by Yumeka
Nopy’s Blog by Nopy
One Minute of Dusk by du5k
The Otaku’s Study by Sam
World of Yamaguchi Hoshiko by hoshiko

Roundup posts by guests – 6

Ambivalence, or is it ambiguity? by @fkeroge
Ambivalence, or is it ambiguity? by Valence
Blue Wave Network by Schultzz
deluscar by Kai
Flomu’s Blog by flomu
The G-Empire by Overlord-G

Roundup posts by others – 1

Watashi wa bucho!! by Ty-chama

First things first: I LOVE these kinds of events and it really shows the cooperative side of anime blogging (read tsurugiarashix post over at KaminariAnime!). It really surprised me that it all went so smoothly and in the end everyone managed to get their posts up. What is even more surprising is that we even had some uninvited guests! There may be even more than the five I have found. You can find all the participants HERE. UPDATE! Do not miss Schultzz post over at Blue Wave Network! It is the sixth guest post!

Reading everyone’s thoughts have been very interesting and I suggest you to do the same if you have not done so already. It is far better than me trying to summarize, as it would not do the posts justice. But in general, it seems that we all agree on that enjoyment is one of the more important, if not the most important, factor in scoring anime. If you do not like the show, then how would you be able to give it a high score?

It has been very fun seeing how each of us tackled the subject differently, even if our posts are somewhat similar in content. Personally, I would like to see some broader topics in the future, something that would make all of us go wild and result in very different posts. Do not get me wrong here, I love the concept and I have read all the posts. But, and this is a very big but, it became slightly tiresome in the end. It also felt like I had nothing more to say after writing a few comments on some blogs, as the content were similar. You might have noticed that I did not discuss very much on the other blogs. This is why I believe a broader topic would make it even better!

I wonder if this post will come off as negative. Hopefully not, as I adored this Blog Carnival and these are just some short thoughts on how to improve it till next time. I would gladly participate again. But for this time, the carnival is over. And it was a success.

Thanks to du5k for creating the Blog Carnival!

9 thoughts on “Blog Carnival – What makes a 10/10 Anime? – Roundup

  1. […] « Christmas Calendar 2011 – Toradora 04 (End) – Toradorable Blog Carnival – What makes a 10/10 Anime – Roundup […]

  2. Ty-chama says:

    Hopefully I’ll have my own blog up and running by the time a new blog carnival is announced! I’d love to take part, discussing topics with everyone else!

  3. Thank you for the inclusion (even though I dropped out of actually participating)

  4. Nopy says:

    I seem to have missed a few of the newcomers, I’ll have to check out their posts later.

    I think it really does all just boil down to enjoyment. Anime was made to entertain, and people should enjoy entertainment 🙂

    • Marow says:

      I might have missed some myself!

      Anime is made to entertain, huh? This actually brings up an interesting question: does every anime have to be entertaining? What about shows that instead of giving you enjoyment, tries to disgusts you and open your mind? Does every anime have to be enjoyable? Oh well, this depends on how you interpret the word itself. Enjoyment as “this is real fun!” or “this is quite interesting…”. ^^’

  5. Mushyrulez says:

    Ah, one day, I’ll participate in these events too! But for now, time to be an antisocial social blogger. Hypocrisy is all the rage these days.

What Do You Think?

