Poll – Question to Those of You Who Use Anime Nano

This will be kept rather short, as it is more of a curious question on my part than an actual post. So do not get your hopes up!

But before we get to that, I have something big to announce! The bracket in the Aniblog Tourney 2012 has now been revealed! Quick summary if you have missed the commotion: the Aniblog Tourney is a tournament in which anime blogs battle every day to claim their rightful places, all wanting to the very best like no one ever was. The reason for this is so we do not have to travel across the Internet, searching far and wide after new blogs to read. Because as we all know: we gotta read ‘em all! All this crazy stuff will begin on the 15th April, which is soon. Make sure to keep an eye out for this, because the more voters, the more fun!

In any case, back to the original intent of this post. A lot of people claim only anime bloggers use the anime blog indexer Anime Nano, something I do not agree with, as I myself used it before I became a blogger. So, being the curious person I am, I have decided to do a fancy poll! The first one on the blog, at that! It will be up for a week (7 days)! Please vote seriously and do use the comment section too, as that is an even safer way to make sure the votes are not skewed.

That’s all Folks!

31 thoughts on “Poll – Question to Those of You Who Use Anime Nano

  1. feal87 says:

    I used it before becoming a blogger and still use it…:P

    • Marow says:

      Good choice, sir!

    • Vucub Caquix says:

      Same as feal. I was a NON-blogger for longer than I was one.

      • Marow says:

        You, too, started blogging not that long ago, if I remember correctly? 🙂

      • Vucub Caquix says:

        @marow July of last year. I’ve been frequenting blogs and commenting since about 2008 though.

        Our blog does alright. We write on shows that pique our interests, though I suppose we’re what folks would call an “editorial” blog.

      • Marow says:

        Yes, I know. You guys have gotten quite big and famous in a short time!

        As for me, I guess I’ve been reading Random Curiosity since around 2010 and later The Cart Driver. That was it for me until 2011, where I started discovering more blogs, Anime Nano and eventually created Anime Viking. I wonder if this is a process every blogger goes through?

      • Vucub Caquix says:

        That’s actually something that resembles a conversation that I had with ghostlightning over skype several times.

        A blog will never have as many comments as they will have pageviews, period. To comment on a post is a magnitude of effort above what is required to just read it. Otherwise known as “lurking”. To wit, if a person has the inclination to comment and leave thoughtful responses to the articles they read, then they already possess the inclination to start their own blog to try and set the topic of conversation themselves.

        A prolific commenter with an established and recognizable identity, given the right circumstances, will “flower” into a blogger outright. That isn’t meant to be taken as a blanket statement as obviously not all commenters will become bloggers, but it will most likely happen should the right factors be present.

        Funny think happens though at that point: if the commenter becomes a blogger, the number and quality of their responses to other begins to dry up. Why write a 50-100 comment when it can make a perfectly good blog post?

        This was debated a bit between an author from my blog and Akira from Moe Fundamentalism. Check it out:

        http://altairandvega.wordpress.com/2012/02/09/the-ani-sphere-all-atwitter/
        http://akirascuro.wordpress.com/2012/03/14/decolonizing-the-anisphere/

      • Marow says:

        I have to re-read those posts when I wake up tomorrow, but I remember them as interesting.

        While I do agree with your thinking, I’d say that the step from a commentator to a blogger is both big and small at the same time. Many, including myself (whenever I don’t lurk around), like to throw in little comments regarding a certain topic or episode. Most of the time, however, it’s not to indulge in a deeper discussion about the episode, but to instead “talk” with the blogger, sharing your thoughts in a easy way.

        That’s the main difference between commenting and blogging. When you blog, you have to put much greater thought into the post, making it easy to read, accessible to everyone and so on, something that simply isn’t needed when commenting! The way you write is so different, that I wouldn’t draw any parallell that it’s easy to become a blogger if you comment much. Many just want to share their opinion and socialize, much like we all do on Twitter, for example.

        To start blogging puts a lot more stress and focus on YOU, something that many don’t want. Making a post every week is not something everyone desire and thus, they are put off by the thought of blogging themselves. The select few who starts blogging are people who can handle this, but are also interested in the whole thing of blogging, I believe.

        But at the same time, to start blogging is so much easier than people think. You can just start blogging in a few seconds, it’s that accessible! In fact, you don’t even have to write 500+ words per post, just look at some available blogs and you’ll see a huge variety, anything from long essays to Twitter-length. So in a way, people shouldn’t be scared of blogging. You just need to do your thing and have fun while doing it. That’s what important.

        … I’m not sure this is coherent and understandable, writing in the middle of the night as I am, but hopefully you’ll understand me! 🙂

  2. draggle says:

    I feel like your poll is missing the “I don’t use it” option.

  3. hungtruong says:

    Everyone must use Anime Nano!

  4. Justin says:

    Is it just me, or am I shocked no one made a Pokemon reference O.o

  5. -chii- says:

    used it before and still do 🙂

  6. Cholisose says:

    Yeah, I’ve learned about Anime Nano just recently (hence not being in the tourney). It seems like a nice resource though. I’ll have to look into it.

  7. Very reluctant about using it until enough people pestered me to do so. I would not say that I use it as a blogger, but just to see if my blog would be accepted. Holds no benefit or harm (for now)…

  8. I use Anime Nano occasionally. Honestly I prefer my google reader feed. Of course that’s because I get to choose who’s on my google reader. Whenever I end up looking at Anime Nano, I find something that I wasn’t expecting. Something that’s interesting to read. I wonder how the poll will turn out.

  9. Kai says:

    I’m a blogger and I use one 😀 I haven’t care enough at first but I noticed that being an anime blogger myself, I HAD to use one. And it’s quite a nice way to get to know more blogs, while showing more of yours, though the updates are exceptionally fast.

    • Marow says:

      Yep, it’s also a great way of “marketing”, haha! As said above, it would be easier to find new blogs if you could somehow sort posts into different categories. When I look at the time the posts on Anime Nano is published, it’s only about 1-5 minutes that seperates them. Many of them are episodics or news (and even… a Wiki?), which is probably the reason.

      Wonder if you can implement categories… we’ll have to ask the creator 🙂

  10. I don’t use it at all, but I should start I guess. Maybe later…

What Do You Think?

