Six Months Later

Here I am, having been in the blogosphere as a blogger for a while. And it feels like I am only getting started.

Started?

Yes, started.

But even though I am still wet behind my ears, I feel like an old geezer when it comes to blogging. Now this might sound like a contradiction to what I said in the opening paragraph, but hear me out. It will not take long.

When I today look back at my very first blog post here on Anime Viking, I barely recognize my old self. It was a very shaky and insecure person who wrote that post, someone who was totally new to blogging and writing longer texts in English outside of school. “What should I write?” “Am I making myself clear?” “Will anyone be offended?” These were only a fraction of the thoughts that ventured through my head at the time.

So when I look at myself today, I can see that I have grown a lot. In fact, so much that I even sang to people I have not met before, something which is quite an achievement for a person who does not even dare to speak with friends via microphone. In other words, it feels as if I have grown up and today I am confident in what I am doing. I am in the game.

However, there still is as a long way to go. These six months have passed by in the blink of an eye and this is only the beginning. Will I manage to reach the age of one year? Will I survive the two-year death of blogging? These are some tough questions, but one thing I do know is that I will blog as long as I possibly can before I hit the wall. And hopefully you guys will be with me when that happens.

Big thanks to all of you who read Anime Viking, because without you, I would not have made it this far!

But before ending this post, I have three short things I want to bring up.

What happened to the school project about blogs you mentioned in your very first blog post?

Well, I doubt any of you actually wondered about this, but it feels bad to just leave it hanging! In any case, it has been a smooth ride and I will recieve my grade later next month. Hopefully a good one!

How do you feel about Anime Viking? What should be improved?

Simple one: what do you readers believe should become better? Is it language, layout, the type of posts and so on. While some of these might not be fixable, some sure can be!

The future of Anime Viking

I have been thinking for a while about how this blog will continue. After having given it some thought, my conclusion was that it will continue the same way as now. In other words, that means a single writer and a focus on editorials. But the truth is that I am becoming more and more interested in finding a co-blogger, as it could be a lot of fun. That, however, will have to wait at least a few more months. If any of you, blogger or non-blogger, are interested, feel free to contact me!

And now, it is time to continue blogging, striving for a bright future. Who knows how it will go?

25 thoughts on “Six Months Later

  1. Ty-chama says:

    Congrats, it’s been great following your blog and watching it grow these last 6 months! A real privilege.

    No improvement to offer but, I was just wondering, what were you hoping a co-blogger could bring to Anime Viking?

    • Marow says:

      A co-blogger could bring a lot of great things. Besides the typical higher frequency and perhaps even one episodics (with a touch of editorial), what I’d love to do is to make proper team posts. A lot of blogs have many members, but they barely do anything special with it.

      I’d like to try bringing in different perspectives and such, if you get what I mean. Perhaps one could argue why x is bad, while the other one argues why it’s good. Or why not do posts together? And so on. It would take time to do this stuff, but it would be fun once in a while.

      • Ty-chama says:

        Huh, that’s what I originally wanted my blog to be made up of, team posts- I had originally planned to start a group blog you see but, my two co-bloggers ducked out, one not having the skill required, the other, the time.
        Well, if you’re ever looking for someone to write a team post with, you know where to find me!

      • Marow says:

        Aw, that’s too bad. Perhaps you will find some others 🙂

        And you know where to find me! I’ll gladly do one if you ask.

  2. Marow says:

    I did 3 small changes to my “About” page. Anyone got a good eye (and memory)?

  3. Yerocha says:

    It’s been interesting seeing the posts that come out here. Hard to believe it’s already been six months, because I still remember back when this place started. And I actually did remember the school project, though I didn’t know much about it since it never got brought up.

    • Marow says:

      Yes, time really flies (and faster when you’re older, for some reason ;-;). I didn’t want to spend to much mentioning the school project, as I doubt anyone is interested in it, but I thought I could give it a closure by bringing it up again.
      I could do a lot of meta-blogging too, such as blog/stats/content analysis and so on, but once again, this is an anime blog and most people would not be interested. Otherwise I would do it!

  4. I’m surprised that you’ve been blogging for so long.

    I enjoy reading your blog because it contains a unique set of articles. I prefer these style of editorial posts to episodic or review blogs. I don’t want to critic your writing style because you have seemingly found your style already and I am not a nearly talented enough writer to attempt to critic others work. I really enjoyed the more history focused articles such as the P.A. Works article. All in all I would rather not critic something that I already enjoy for fear of breaking it.

    What an interesting experiment team blogging could turn out to be? If I were any good, I would be interested in joining you. Sadly I have no reason for confidence in my writing abilities. Hopefully you find an enthusiastic writer who will compliment your writing style.

    I wish you more success with this blog in the future.

    • Marow says:

      I’ve heard people saying I have a variety in what I post, but I never understood why. Perhaps because of editorials? :p

      If you have anything to criticize, just throw it at me! There is never something as being too bad of a writer to be a critic, everyone can criticize! In fact, it’s even better if as many do it, as it means different opinions from different people with different “skills” (one is good at writing, another isn’t).

      I really enjoyed your short story, you ARE good at writing, trust me. I was really captured by that story andn that is the most important thing. Yes, you could make the sentences flow better and small things, but that comes naturally when you start writing. I mean, even I still make mistakes.
      Be confident in your writing, because it is far from bad 🙂

      Thanks for commenting!

  5. Myst says:

    Congratulations on the milestone!

    You’ve done a great job with your blog and I personally have learned quite a bit from reading your posts. Looking forward to your posts in the future!

    • Marow says:

      Thank you 🙂
      Mind if I ask you if it’s any specific posts?

      • Myst says:

        The series of posts on why people fansub comes to mind. Other posts, which I might now learn something new outright, have been plenty thought-provoking and generally fun to read. One’s that fit this includes the “what makes an anime 10/10” and “It does not need another season.”

      • Marow says:

        Interesting, thanks for the info! I found the fansub posts fun, if bothersome (dang you IRC!), to do. I also found the other ones you mentioned fun to do.
        Maybe it’s true that when “it just comes to you” something becomes the best (which is the reason I dislike forcing myself).

  6. Kai says:

    Congrats 😀 I started blogging myself on Oct last year, so I guess we started almost at the same time 😀 Time sure flies by.. though it’s just 6 months, lol. As for co-writers, why not try to get some guest writers to start things off?

    • Marow says:

      We started the same month? Awesome! It’s so odd. It feels like forever but at the same time it’s not. Time is messy.

      That’s a good idea, thanks! Feels a bit awkward to ask people who already have their own blogs, though ^^’

      • Kai says:

        Yes it does seems a bit too quick to be feeling nostalgic, but then again, 6 months isn’t particularly a short time too.

        Lol, if you’re looking for one, I’m always willing^^ Collaboration or projects of some kinds are always fun to do.

      • Marow says:

        Six months… that’s 1/38 of my life!

        Thanks, I’ll keep that in mind. And you can always ask me 🙂

  7. Canne says:

    Congratulations on the milestone. I think you did very well and has accomplished so much more than I did at the six months time.

    The thought of having co-writers or guest-writers flashed through my mind from time to time but I never actually went for it. Maybe it’s just a matter of style.

    • Marow says:

      Thanks! I actually had to check and wow, your blog is old! I thought it was new when I first heard of it. Once again, the blogosphere sure is vast ^^’

      Oh, okay. It might be because you’re used to it or that it doesn’t feel like “your” blog anymore. I’m sure these reasons will apply to at least me when the time comes. 🙂

  8. feal87 says:

    6 months old? You’re a old geezer! O_O

What Do You Think?

