12 Days of Christmas 2012 #07 – The Joy of Binbougami ga! and HanaKana Being a Good Voice Actor

BinbougamiGa3

Love this duo.

Do you remember Binbougami ga!? You probably did not watch it while the few who did usually proclaimed how utterly dull it was. I was originally one of the persons who did not watch it, the reason being how, well, utterly dull it seemed to be.

But for some reason I became more and more interested in it, surely the catchy opening and ending song helped with that, and shortly after it had finished airing I sat down and watched it. And boy did I fall in love with it quickly. I ended up breezing through all thirteen episodes in only three days, which is a rare feat for me.

What can I say? Binbougami ga! rocks!


A common complaint was how loudmouthed it was, often making characters yell at each other at any given opportunity. This is definitely true, but it never bothered me because of how common this is in anime anyway. But this was not the only reason I did not mind it.

The main reason was how I utterly adored the characters and their voice actors. The characters were full of energy and personality, with our heroine Ichiko not giving a single care in the world about her fortune draining the luck of people around her. She wants to keep her luck to herself (with a few exceptions, however…)!

BinbougamiGa2

Friends for life.

I was really surprised when I saw that Kana Hanazawa voiced Ichiko since it is not her typically shy role. This time she would be outgoing and determined instead of the cute little mess as she usually is.

Never would I have imagined how well this type of role would actually fit her. It is basically perfect for her and I definitely want to hear her in similar roles in the future. Perhaps she already has and I have missed it? I have only really heard her doing the grating and cute voice found in for example Fractale and Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai.


HanaKana alone makes Binbougami Ga! a pleasure to watch, so when you add in even more quirky characters and talented voice actors it is bound to be great. What this series excels in is the chemistry between its characters, making every single interaction between the lucky Ichiko and the unlucky god Momiji both fun and exciting (to hear how the voice actors will perform). Ichiko and Momiji is also one of the best anime duos I have seen.

The comedy itself is not so bad either even if it is loudmouthed. Sometimes Binbougami ga! also brings up interesting themes, such as if parents should decide who their child should be or how you want your friend to behave. They are never too heavy, luckily, and mixes well with the comedy, creating a series that is a little more than a just a comedy.

I love Binbougami ga! and it was my biggest anime surprise of the year.

Did an anime also surprise you this year?

16 thoughts on “12 Days of Christmas 2012 #07 – The Joy of Binbougami ga! and HanaKana Being a Good Voice Actor

  1. I liked this show quite a bit, but I had to put in on-hold due to school. Hopefully I’ll be able to finish it over the break. 🙂

  2. Justin says:

    I already foresaw Binbougami-Ga being pretty solid. I’m glad you see the light Marow 🙂

  3. Anonymous says:

    This makes me want to watch it! I love a good anime duo. I also thoroughly enjoyed that fistbump picture

  4. Hurvilo says:

    You’re welcome! 😉

  5. Overlord-G says:

    Raging HanaKana gave me so many raging otaku boners. Add the fact Tittyko’s already boner worthy material and you have a very soggy throne room of mine. there’s your nightmare fuel for the rest of your life.

    Anyway, Binbougami-Ga was nothing short of hilarious awesomeness mixed with well done parodying.

  6. Marow says:

    there’s your nightmare fuel for the rest of your life.

    Thank you very much ;-;

  7. miharusshi says:

    That disguise scene cracked me up! And I love Binbougami ga! For me, though, it was Uchiyama Yumi’s playful voice acting that made the show.

What Do You Think?

