Do You Drop Anime?

AnimeDrop2

I love anime, I really do. As such, I watch a somewhat large amount of series every new season. They can all vary from awesome to terrible in quality, yet I usually tend to continue watching them no matter what.

But there are times when I cannot help but feel that enough is enough. Why waste time watching something that is clearly not enjoyable, when you can drop it and watch something far better?

However silly this may sound, I have always believed that watching bad anime can be valuable in itself. It allows you to have a better picture of anime as a medium when you know its highs and lows. If you only watch anime that are generally considered to be great, would it not become tiresome after a while? In the same manner, would you not be able to appreciate the great anime a whole lot more if you have seen the bad ones before?

Watching both good and bad anime gives diversity to your viewing habits and takes you out of your comfort zone. It allows you to reflect on why you enjoy certain series while you dislike others. And, who knows, maybe you will end up enjoying an anime that is considered bad?

AnimeDrop

Because of these reasons I have very few dropped anime. I never pick up an anime expecting it to be bad, but if it turns out to be that I usually stick around with it. Another reason for doing so could be that the anime in question is in some way “important” for the lack of better words. It could be a big title, an interesting concept or something that I think will be talked about in many years to come.

One such example would be Guilty Crown, an anime that nailed the rare “so bad it is good” enjoyment. Guilty Crown was a huge title when it aired in 2011 and I felt it would be fun to see where it would head, no matter how bad it was. It was an anime you just had to experience.

Another example would be Eureka Seven AO, which I felt was worth watching since it was a sequel to Eureka Seven which I love. Now, in this particular case I slightly regret continuing to watch since Eureka Seven AO completely went against the message of its predecessor. But in the end, it still gave me something. It made me fully realize my love for Eureka Seven.

KyoukaiNoKanataMaleGaze

Yet, recently there has been a slight change in my attitude to dropping anime.

This current anime season, fall 2013, I have dropped more anime than I ever have before. There are four titles I that have dropped, which is roughly 1/5th of my total drop count. This surprises me, to be perfectly honest, because I have put up with much worse anime before.

The anime in question are: Galilei Donna, Gingitsune, Valvrave the Liberator 2nd and Kyoukai no Kanata. Not any of these are terrible, with perhaps the only exception being Valvrave 2nd! They were merely in one way or another tiring me out. I did not have any fun when watching them.

I felt there was no point in continuing watching if I saw no redeeming factors, not even if I had seen the previous season as in the case of Valvrave 2nd.

It would only be a waste of time. A waste of my life I could put on better things.

I cannot put my finger on why it all of a sudden feels so much easier to drop anime than before. Is it because I am growing older and have less free time due to studying? Maybe!

No matter what, it has been a wonderful realization and makes me feel free. Yes, I will still watch bad anime from time to time, but I will no longer feel obligated to finish them.

Enough is enough.

66 thoughts on “Do You Drop Anime?

  1. Guy says:

    I drop anime, but not enough, or quickly enough. I often “drop” anime into “on-hold” when they counter what I can marathon, such as zany comedies or “cute girls doing cute things” which I can only take in small doses.

    But I often, especially for ongoing shows, don’t drop them fast enough. I am still watching 13 shows a week, which is too many, after dropping Coppelion, Strike the blood, and even worse stuff I’ve dropped after a single episode that itself felt like torture (Yuushibu, NouCome, etc.)

    I’m still watching Galilei Donna, Kyoukai no Kanata and Unbreakable Machine-Doll, and a couple others, and asking myself why >.>

    • Marow says:

      That’s the problem with watching weekly, isn’t it? Since it’s just one episode per week it doesn’t feel too much of a hassle if it’s bad. “Maybe it will get better next episode!”, “Surely it will get better soon!” and the likes occurs to me at least.

      • Guy says:

        Yeah, but honestly, shows also don’t feel as bad when you marathon them – because it flies by so quickly. The need to actually motivate yourself to pick up a show can tell you it’s bad.

        Then again, a few years ago I just sort of burnt out in week 8-9 on everything I’ve watched, and liked! Penguindrum, Usagi Drop, and a couple others. Finally watched Penguindrum a few months ago, Usagi Drop is still sitting at 9/11 for now, but it’ll get finished.

  2. Anth says:

    I try my hardest to never drop anime after I have begun watching it. It leaves a bad taste in my mouth, like I’ve begun a project and not finished it. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve certainly seen my share of anime that have not been great in my opinion. But, once it’s over, I look back at all of it and think, “It was kind of okay.” In some cases, the ending may redeem the whole series for me, in some way or another. I suppose the way I see it is that, if I don’t stick with an anime to the end, I’d never have a justifiable view of whether or not it was good. I can certainly understand others who drop, though, because some series are a tough ordeal to get through.

    • Marow says:

      You can still criticize the parts you watched!

      Seeing how you mention that an ending can redeem a series for you… mind sharing some examples? 😮

      • Anth says:

        You can absolutely criticize what you’ve watched; but if someone to tell me a series was bad, and they hadn’t completed it, I wouldn’t be able to take their opinion seriously.

        I think a good example of an ending redeeming a series for me is Sora no Woto. In the beginning, it certainly plants fragments of mystery, but all in all it runs like a slice of life show. Within the last two episodes, though, the casual atmosphere is shattered and we’re thrown into the reality of the world in which the story takes place. The seriousness of it puts the previous “calm” episodes in a new light, and things previously seeming extraneous now make sense. The thirteen episode OVA pushed this even further with the explicit reveal that the world is the way it is (I am avoiding spoilers just in case anyone might read this). Without seeing the end, I would never have had the proper perspective of the beginning and middle, you see?

  3. Overlord-G says:

    My current record of dropping shows is a groundbreaking three: Haiyoru Nyaruko-san, Maken-Ki. I forgot the other one. It takes a lot to upset me enough to drop a show.

  4. Overlord-G says:

    I wouldn’t exactly count stop watching shows like Naruto, Bleach, One Piece, etc as dropping a show. I prefer watching those on TV over the internet. However, if you count long running shounen anime (Even though Bleach’s done) as dropping shows, I guess that makes six.

    • Marow says:

      I gave up on all of those three. Their original manga versions are simply vastly superior. The anime movies can be quite fun, though!

      • Overlord-G says:

        I plan on watching Road of Ninja for the ultimate blessing that is “Punk” Hinata, as I like to call her.

        Maybe you’ll find something to like in Nyaruko-san that I didn’t. I stopped caring about the show after it turned into a het harem and when Kuuko turned to the “dark side”.

  5. Deadlight says:

    “Watching both good and bad anime gives diversity to your viewing habits and takes you out of your comfort zone. It allows you to reflect on why you enjoy certain series while you dislike others.”

    Yeah, I agree. But you don’t need to have completed the entirety of every awful series you’ve seen to establish a firm grasp on why you find so and so enjoyable.

    Now that I’ve seen and finished my fair share of bad series, I find myself dropping series much faster as I’ve already established my own subjective standards. With my life becoming much more busier and my free time becoming scarce, I don’t have or want the patience to sit through subpar series anymore.

    • Scamp says:

      Agreeing with this. You say watching a wide variety of anime gives you a good indication of what else is out there and a greater understanding of anime, but you don’t need to finish the anime in question to have an understanding of what it is. One or two episodes is enough to get that sense.

      Of course I am a rather unusual case with my 413 anime dropped. First anime I dropped was Green Green and I’ve never looked back since then~

    • Marow says:

      @Deadlight
      Agreed 🙂
      There are times when it has been good sticking with a show that at first was subpar, at least for me!

  6. Silvachief says:

    I’ve only dropped a few anime, them being 07 Ghost, Bleach and Naruto Shippuden. Not necessarily because they were bad but because I thought my time would be better used watching other anime.

    Even if i’m not particularly fond of a show i’ll watch it through (unless it’s horrendously long) because many stories get better as they go. I don’t mind watching a few average episodes to get to an epic finish. Granted, I still wish I hadn’t watched Canaan, Ef or Phantom.

    • Marow says:

      I see.

      Granted, I still wish I hadn’t watched Canaan, Ef or Phantom.

      W-Wait a second here. Are they bad? I thought at least the latter two were mildly popular?

      • Silvachief says:

        Canaan was terrible. Phantom was alright (I have a review up if you want to know more). The first season of Ef was good (better than the VN even, though I guess I didn’t like the VN so that doesn’t say much). The second season was average again.

        Nothing really meaningful happens in Ef in my opinion, though many many people would disagree i’m sure. One of my major complaints about the anime is that it tries ridiculously hard to be artistic with its visuals to the point where it becomes detrimental to the enjoyment of the viewer. For lack of a better word, the “artisticness” is randomly thrown in to the point where it becomes obnoxious.

        • Marow says:

          The artistic side of Ef you mention, is that not due studio Shaft’s usual tricks? Or are they using them too much? 😮

        • Silvachief says:

          The only other series i’ve seen by Shaft is Puella Magi Madoka Magica, so the rest of this comment is only based off of that.

          Ef’s artistic component is constantly in your face, as if the studio was desperate to show off just how creative they were. The result is that a lot of the techniques they use don’t flow well with the anime’s other aspects and come across as garish. Don’t get me wrong, there are one or two very clever scenes but the vast majority of what they try to do is completely unnecessary.

          Madoka Magica’s artistic components were tasteful and used to accentuate just how unsettling the Witches’ lairs were. It all fit together very well and made the series more interesting and enjoyable to watch. Shaft wasn’t trying to show off; they had identified a way to make the series stand out and pulled it of wonderfully.

          The difference in this case in that Madoka Magica’s artsy side fits in well with the rest of the show, whereas Ef’s is like that one kid in the supermarket dancing around and clamoring for attention while its parents sigh and shuffle through the shop with their eyes downcast.

        • Marow says:

          I found some clips on Youtube and… it seems rather jarring. It’s not that they play much visually, at least from what I saw, as much as it keeps cutting all the time! It made it hard to focus on a scene.
          But then again, I haven’t seen the series.

          Madoka Magica is where Shaft’s unique style came to shine and where it fully fit the story they tried to told. There are many instances when it has helped certain series (Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei or Monogatari), but at times it feels a bit… too much. I generally still love it, though.

  7. John Samuel says:

    Life is too short for bad cheese, tea, or anime. 🙂

  8. Hogart says:

    Dropping anime is natural, especially as you get used to the various staple shows that they air every season if they’ve brought nothing new to the table after a few episodes… who wants to watch the same thing over and over again, really?

    I usually give all anime that seem remotely watchable as many eps as I can stomach, and then put them on my backburner (“drop” them) if they fail to show any signs of caring after a few episodes. Most of the shows I drop end up so far down my backlog that I’ll probably never get back to them, but once in a while I’ll watch a random one when it catches my fancy for some reason. Life’s too short to worry about watching everything, especially stuff that doesn’t care to impress.

  9. Fabrice says:

    I try my best to watch as many anime as i can every season but its difficult to enjoy all of them and finish because everyone has different tastes which affects our viewing. There are always 2 or 3 series which i end up not liking, okay i can put on hold and watch again but why force yourself to watch something which you already know you didnt like? Life is short and so we spend time watching what we would enjoy, if not then yes drop!

  10. Never have drop a series as of yet, since I only watch titles I intend to finish. I do occasionally put titles on hold, but do eventually get around to finishing them. “Good” or “Bad” really doesn’t mean much in my vocabulary rather than “Wanting to simply see what happens”.

    • Marow says:

      How can you be so sure that the titles you intend to finish won’t bore you? 😮
      I mean, I also watch certain anime to simply see what happens, but… some are just boring.

  11. Di-Dorval says:

    Funny you mention Eureka Seven. I’m struggling true the series atm and though about dropping it.. It’s becoming tedious with a story that dosn’t seem to go anywhere and the same personals issues repeated over and over. I’m pretty far into it though so ima just finish it (just 16eps to go!). Hopefully the crew will keep their moral for the rest of the show!

    When I drop a show it’s usually just because it bore me or I find it insulting. It’s rare that I find show bad enough for me to drop though. I kinda find it hard to drop something when you already wasted time watching part of it or it’s supposed to be ‘important’ like you said. Most shows that I feel too bad about dropping just stays in my on-hold list forever.

    Popular shows ive dropped so far:
    -Dragon ball (even has a kid I though it was damn boring. Like the manga though)
    -Death note (It just tries so much to show us how clever it is when in fact every banter between L and light is practically the same and way too long.)
    -Bakemonogatari (actually loved it at first but it grew tiresome fast)
    -Tentai opera Milky holmes: alternatives (who though that was a good idea when the original show was so awesome)

    • Marow says:

      Eureka Seven is kinda slow, so I understand you. 🙂
      Hope you’ll finish it!

      What do you mean by insulting?

      • Di-Dorval says:

        Hey I finished E7 ahah! The 10 last episodes were good. The 40 before that were pretty much the same issues being reused over and over though..

        Insulting would be when there is no worth watching it. When it tries it’s hardest to waste my time by bringing nothing new or being incredibly stupid with it’s story/themes.

        • Marow says:

          Nice you liked the final episodes! Eureka Seven happens to be one of my favorites 🙂

          Ah, I see what you mean now with insulting.

  12. Caraniel says:

    I have a pretty low drop rate given how much I watch – about 7% I believe. When I was younger I had a real resistance to dropping anything, but I’ve definitely gotten over that as I’ve gotten older. That being said quite a sizeable proportion of my dropped list are shows that I just sampled the 1st episode of at the start of seasons – generally if I make it past ep3 I’ll watch the whole thing unless it becomes offensively bad/boring…..being boring is probably a worse crime that being bad in my opinion though.

  13. Flawfinder says:

    Because anime isn’t exactly my life like it used to be, I’m much stricter about cutting stuff. I recently dropped Yozakura b/c whilst it’s not bad, I’m already getting the same thing with Birdy the Mighty Decode S2, but way better. It also helps that I rarely change my opinion of an anime after the first two episodes or so because anime tends to do a good job setting up the mood and rules in their initial phase.

    There are exceptions of course. One was Air Master. Those first few episodes sucked hard. Cool fight scenes ruined by some of the most obnoxious humor I’ve ever seen in my life. I pushed through just for the fights and it wasn’t until around Episode 9 or so where it became one of the greatest anime I’ve ever seen.

    On the other side was Madoka. I loved the initial episodes. They were pretty awesome. Then that second half occurred and ruined everything cool about it by saying the whole thing was based on godawful time travel. Who the fuck thought that was a good idea?

    There are more, but they make up a mere fraction of the stuff I couldn’t stand. I sat through the entirety of Da Capo, Kokoro Connect, Rahxephon (twice), Jormungand, and Myself;Yourself. They never got better (in fact, most of them got worse). And then there was Penguindrum. I never finished it because I didn’t see the point of watching the end of a mystery I no longer had any interest in knowing the answer to due to the poor pacing.

    In short, I’ll keep an eye on discussions, but I refuse to watch an anime that I get no benefit from watching.

    • Marow says:

      Would you say that, by having watched a lot of anime, it feels redundant to watch a new and shiny series if it’s just something you’ve already seen before (to some extent)?
      Like, such as your example, wacky action anime? If you’ve seen one great, what’s the point of seeing others not as great?

      And then there was Penguindrum. I never finished it because I didn’t see the point of watching the end of a mystery I no longer had any interest in knowing the answer to due to the poor pacing.

      And in the end, the mystery was never really fully explored 😦

      • Flawfinder says:

        It’s not that simple really. For example, aside from mecha, movies have done just about everything anime has done but better. Why watch a romance anime when you can just watch Casablanca, the greatest romance to ever be told?

        What matters is giving each thing its own spin to differentiate it. It doesn’t have to be as good. It just has to be different enough to be worth watching. Yozakura doesn’t really have enough compared to, say, Air Master or Jojo to stand out from all the other action anime.

  14. I usually stall an anime rather than drop it. Then, if I go back to it later and find that I cannot continue watching it, then I drop it. I find that I’m dropping shows more often now than earlier in my anime watching career.

    • Marow says:

      Stalling anime would be a terrible idea for me and my ever-growing backlog >_<'

      I wonder if it is more common to drop a show the longer you've watched anime?

  15. chikorita157 says:

    I have written about dropping anime back in 2011, but for me, I don’t drop shows unless they are bad. Currently, I only dropped 8 shows. I tend not to watch everything because I simply don’t have a lot of free time, especially when Graduate School takes a good chunk of time away with studying and projects (along with teaching myself Japanese). Of course, I’m picky, so I tend to watch shows I enjoy although I do go out of the box once in a while and leave it at that. Of course, everyone is going to have different tastes. As for me, I’m pretty lenient unless there is something I don’t like or there is a lot of flaws that make a particular show bad.

  16. Dave Baranyi says:

    I drop around 2/3rds of the anime that I try out each season, most often after the first episode, sometimes after a few episodes in, and in some rare occasions even after as many as 12 episodes. And I try out most all of the new series every season, every year, and have been doing so since 1996… So I’ve dropped 918 anime series during that time while completing 534.

    So while I sometimes regret completing a series, I never regret dropping one.

  17. mk03 says:

    The only two anime I’ve ever dropped are Kokoro Connect and Little Busters! (although I do plan on marathoning the latter eventually, probably when LB Refrain finishes), but both were due to a lack of time. I only watch about two or three anime per season (usually the most popular or most talked ones), and I sometimes marathon finished anime during vacations, so it’s not really a problem for me.

  18. Joe says:

    Yes, if I’m not enjoying something I stop watching it. Just like, you know, any other form of entertainment.

  19. Fr33z3R says:

    For me, I drop an anime title when it has too much cliché, or didn’t expect the things I’ve read on it’s plot line. Especially on Hyperdimension Neptunia Animation. Dropped it the moment I Nepgear got superpowers just by watching her friends get in danger. >_<

  20. Oh heck yeah. I drop some anime like a hot potato. This year’s hottest drop has to be “Free! Iwatobi Swim Club”. The bishies were just too much!

  21. Izkda says:

    I’ve been watching anime for about 8 years and I have yet to drop a show. That doesn’t mean I haven’t watched bad ones, I just marathon them or play them on a second monitor

  22. Manifest says:

    It looks like you just too much spend your time watch animes lead you subjective to certain story genre. Just break some time and do other stuff like read light novel or manga. Watch anime or movie same genre too long make you defensive or guess it outcome even before the show complete.

  23. Kai says:

    I rarely drop any shows, I try my best to finish everything I watched even if it’s bad. There’s also the fact that I usually marathon my anime, when an anime gets a bit too draggy or dull, since I marathon them, everything goes so fast I can barely feel anything. But I can’t do this for slice-of-life though, aim of slow-paced slice-of-life is usually for relaxing, but if I marathon them, my mindset is focused more on finishing them quickly than relaxing. If I watch slice-of-life, I make sure to “break” out my watching session in different segments.

    Another thing is that I don’t really pick a lot of anime shows to watch per season. Sometimes on very rare occasion, I can reach 10, but sometimes the amount of shows I watched can go as low as 3 – it’s so that I can focused on finishing them instead of dropping them halfway.

    • Marow says:

      Yep, slice of life should be enjoyed in a relaxed manner! that’s the point of it 🙂

      It’s been a long time since I personally watched less than 5 anime at a time…

  24. The only time I have dropped an anime intentionally forever, and never to return was ‘School Days’. I find it a horrific and grinding experience when the protagonist is too underpowered or seems to be going a whole series without ever growing a pair of balls (male or female). But School Days was totally different, I had to truly drop it because the protagonist was such an asshole. I got to the end of episode 5 where (spoiler approaching) he’s being a dick (lol, tricked ya), but he was being a dick to a girl in an anime where there are three characters.

    Like, it’s hard to explain, but he just was so utterly un-relatable to me on every level, every decision he made throughout those 5 episodes completely conflicted with the decision I would have made in each situation. To boot, there was never redemption, he always got what he wanted. OOOOOOOOOO, it makes me so mad. I dropped it maybe 2 months ago, and it still boils my blood.

What Do You Think?

