Anime Viking is No Longer on Crunchyroll

Aria92

It has been a little over a year since I was first featured on Crunchyroll News, gushing over how GJ-bu charmed me to no ends. Being able to have my texts published on the largest English legal streaming website for anime made me incredibly happy.

Having the opportunity to reach out to others and see my writing yield results was something I never could have been able to imagine before; not on such a large scale. It was, in a sense, a dream come true. For the first time in my life, something I truly wished to do was an actual possibility.

As time passed more texts were accepted. I did not send in many – after all, I wanted them to fit (i.e. many older ones on time-specific topics were not sent in) – but essentially all of of the ones I did were accepted.

Nothing in my writing was ever affected by this relationship, as I first and foremost wished to represent my actual opinions. I would never write if I could not be honest and open about it. You could call this my writer’s integrity.

Here is a full list of all my texts featured on Crunchyroll next to the original texts on Anime Viking:

Crunchyroll Anime Viking
Anime Viking Review: “GJ Club” is the Best Anime of the Season GJ-bu is the Best Anime of the Season
FEATURE: Spring 2013 Anime Early Impressions Spring 2013 Anime Early Impressions – Surprises Everywhere
FEATURE: Will You Still Watch and Enjoy Anime as You Grow Older? Will You Still Watch and Enjoy Anime as You Grow Older?
FEATURE: How Expectations Can Make or Break Anime How Expectations Can Make or Break Anime
FEATURE: Anime is Not Getting Worse – We Only Lack Perspective Anime is Not Getting Worse – We Only Lack Perspective
FEATURE: My Most Anticipated Anime is “Log Horizon” My Most Anticipated Anime is “Log Horizon”
FEATURE: Summer 2013 Anime Reviews – What’s With These Finales? Summer 2013 Anime Reviews – What’s With These Finales?
FEATURE: Do You Drop Anime? Do You Drop Anime?
FEATURE: I Cannot Stop Thinking About “The Pet Girl of Sakurasou” I Cannot Stop Thinking About “Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo” Despite its Obvious Flaws
FEATURE: Digital or Physical Anime – Which Do You Prefer? Digital or Physical Anime – Which Do You Prefer?

A total of ten texts spread over ten months, with the start in March 2013 and the end in December 2013.

Unfortunately, I have as of April 2014 decided that I no longer wish to write for Crunchyroll. This is a conclusion I completely reached on my own based on my beliefs.

Considering the lack of consent from the person(s) involved, I cannot shed any light on the details surrounding the situation. What I can say, however, is that I would not be able to stay the same person as I am today if I were to continue writing for Crunchyroll.

This last year has been a lot of fun. To have had the chance to be published on Crunchyroll makes me nothing but thankful. I may have only been a “Guest Author” instead of a full-fledged contributor, but it still makes for a unique period of my life to be treasured. It is a period I will fondly remember. To me, it means a lot.

Anime Viking will no longer be featured on Crunchyroll.

Some things are just not meant to be.

18 thoughts on “Anime Viking is No Longer on Crunchyroll

  1. Overlord-G says:

    Hopefully your next adventure will be an even more successful one. Take what you learned from this experience and see where it goes next time.

  2. ImperialX says:

    It’s interesting that you will stop writing for Crunchyroll because “you’ll no longer be the same person”. We never remain the same person compared to the day before regardless what we do, let alone writing.

    I’m glad that this has been a pleasing and memorable experience for you though. I’m looking forward to where you’ll be heading next.

    Life never stays the same, and gracefully embracing the change is one of the main themes of Aria the Origination.

    • Marow says:

      Well, interpret it however you want. But you are correct that you never remain the same person with each new day.

      As for where I head next… we’ll have to see!

      Life never stays the same, and gracefully embracing the change is one of the main themes of Aria the Origination.

      And that’s why I love it. 🙂

  3. One door closes, another opens- according to what you said, it was better things came that way. I wish you the best in the future. Nice hearing from you again!

  4. Mental Invalid says:

    We still love you all the same.

  5. Justin says:

    Welp…I know you’re talking about your experience with CR, but the sidebar thing’s fairly ominous…

    • Marow says:

      To quote for future readers wondering what you mean:

      “Perhaps you’re wondering if the blog is dead. The answer to that is easily no. To put it shortly, my writing experience was soured after a recent thing I will lightly touch upon soon. After that, I’ll post some drafts that were essentially finished (but a bit late to the party today).”

      Do you mean that my writing experience was soured? I’m not sure what you mean otherwise.

  6. Marow says:

    I got a pingback on Otaku Journalist. I spoke with her about this matter. She’s great and I’m glad to have talked with her.

    You can read it here: http://otakujournalist.com/otaku-links-long-week/

  7. Mormegil says:

    Sounds like they wanted you to censor your thoughts, so I respect that you refused to do so. At least that’s how I interpreted the whole thing.

    Thanks for posting your articles there. I really enjoyed reading them. It’s just too bad the comments always got so heated. Sometimes, people can’t accept any criticism of their favorite shows.

    • Marow says:

      Thanks for the kind words 🙂

      I do understand some criticism regarding the seasonal posts, though, as they felt more like checklists in my opinion (hence why I’ve stopped doing them for now, while trying to think up another format). But I do agree it got very heated…

  8. Kai says:

    Not sure what happen there, but good luck with any future endeavors.

  9. […] streaming anime, and is also something I now feel is time to shed some more light onto. As I’ve previously written, I quit publishing there on my own accord. The reason for this, as I tried to subtly imply, was […]

What Do You Think?

