12 Days of Christmas 2014 #09 – Inou-Battle and the Voice Acting of the Year

InouBattleRant2

My reaction.

It is rare to see voice acting in anime praised or even mentioned in the first place. At most there will be discussions about the favorite voice actors which is mainly tied to their voice rather than acting. This is not wrong, as everyone cannot be expected to excel in breaking down every aspect of something they enjoy. I, for instance, would not be able to and is the reason I rarely, if ever, touch upon it.

That said, I want to give praise to a scene found in the seventh episode of Inou-Battle wa Nichijou-kei no Naka de. Note that this could potentially be seen as light spoilers, as the scene in question is a punch to the gut in how sudden and emotional it is.

InouBattleRant

This was difficult to watch.

Personally, I have yet to start Inou-Battle and as such have no understanding of the actual circumstances surrounding the scene. What I do know, however, is that the character Hatoko suddenly snaps and proceeds to have a nearly three-minute-long rant about Jurai’s “chuunibyou” (a term difficult to describe, but is often referred to as “eight-grade syndrome” in English and could – as in the case of Inou-Battle – mean a person believes it has special powers (or perhaps they act as a know-it-all)). The result is one of the most haunting moments in voice acting of 2014.

It makes me wonder how long it took for Hatoko’s voice actor Saori Hayami (known as Ayase from Ore no Imouto ga Konnani Kawaii Wake ga Nai) to get this scene right. With every second her voice stars cracking more and more, while getting more and more intense, until it ends with one final devastating scream that breaks my heart.

I cannot even begin to imagine how the recording session went. All I know is that this is one of the more, if not the most, memorable cases of voice acting in 2014.

The scene in question can, at the time of writing this, be seen here and here.

16 thoughts on “12 Days of Christmas 2014 #09 – Inou-Battle and the Voice Acting of the Year

  1. iblessall says:

    From what I’ve heard, Saori Hayami did that scene in one take. On her first try.

    Not sure if it’s true, but I seem to remember reasonably reliable sources saying it.

    • Marow says:

      If that’s the case, then wow. I have no words. She is talented.

      • iblessall says:

        If haven’t, you should take a look at her Wikipedia page and see what other roles she’s had.

        She has voice a LOT of characters who I’ve thought “man, I like that actress’s voice” about. Which, as you are smart to point out, has more to do about the qualities of the voice than the acting. But I think I do absorb at least some of the acting talent when I’m thinking about an actress.

        Just a quick list of some of my favorites: Build Fighter’s Aila, Monogatari’s Ononoki, TWOGK’s Haqua, Glasslip’s Yana, Oregairu’s Yukino.

  2. rikuo06 says:

    First took notice of her in Zettai Bouei Leviathan, of all things. That show was mostly silly fluff, but it was fluff with great voice acting 🙂

  3. miharusshi says:

    Anitwitters praising this scene pushed me to watch it. Back then, I didn’t know it was Hayami Saori who voiced Hatoko. Then, Bam! I listened to the audio clip (no video clip in YouTube when I searched for it) and it was enough to give me goosebumps. Seriously, it still gives me goosebumps while I was reading this post.

    It still haunts me now, even after watching it n times. Hayami Saori is already my favorite voice actress, but because of this scene, no one else can probably top her in my list for a long time.

    • Marow says:

      I’ve seen it multiple times already and it still gives me goosebumps and makes me just stare into the abyss. It’s so good.

      It’s understandable you’ve become a fan of her! She’s been really great ever since she started. What’s your favorite role?

      • miharusshi says:

        Yep, it’s really good, and I been soooo long since the last time a voice acting performance had moved me this much.

        I started to take notice notice of her in Bakuman, then liked her more as I watched more Oreimo. My favorite role so far is Yukinoshita Yukino. She’s just a perfect Ojou-sama. I’m really enjoying the polar opposite of that in Inou Battle. 🙂

        • Marow says:

          I see! I think I first heard her in OreImo, but started taking notice of her in Bakuman just like you.

          As I haven’t seen too many series with her it’s a bit difficult to choose my favorite, but for the time being it will have to be Ayase from OreImo. It’s probably as it was the first role I heard her in, but it fits her perfectly. But hey, Inou-Battle might dethrone it!

        • miharusshi says:

          I liked her performance as Ayase, too! Ayase is actually my favorite character from Oreimo, even though I don’t like yandere in general.

          Hmmm, not to disappoint you, but her ‘normal’ voice in Inou Battle isn’t that remarkable, aside from that scene in episode 7, since it’s more or less monotonous. Though, of course, it sounds so sweet as expected from her.

        • miharusshi says:

          Oh, yeah, speaking of Hayami Saori, I wrote a post expressing my appreciation for the voice actress and featuring her ED song for Oreimo. https://animeraifu.wordpress.com/2014/10/30/ass-1-my-kokoro-is/

  4. animecommentary says:

    Wow, talk about an incredible performance. And in one single take? That’s what makes this even more amazing. o.o I recall the voice from Sora no Manimani, myself; don’t know how many people watched that show, but it was so cute.

  5. […] [2] One character Hatoko delivers an amazing speech in one episode that made a number of anime bloggers go WOW. One example here, and another here. […]

  6. […] said, I would like to give some honorable mentions to Hanayamata and Inou-Battle wa Nichijou-kei no Naka de. The former is your typical school series featuring girls forming a club – this time yosakoi – […]

What Do You Think?

