It Does Not Need Another Season

No, seriously, it does not need another season. Not a one-cour. Not even an OVA. Just, simply, nothing at all. The series is finished. Accept it and move on.

Every once in a while, there happens to pop up discussions about whether a show needed more episodes or not. Scamp touched upon this particular topic in one of his posts. These discussions also tend to bring up the question about unnecessary sequels. Are they needed, or is it simply milking the franchise? Some honorably proclaim that only true anime fans wants sequels, no matter how needed they are. Everyone else is just false fans. Other people argue that a sequel would be worthless, as the story is already finished.  These two sides clash and as always on the Internet, it ends with each side badmouthing the other.

My opinion on this falls into the latter kind of people, the ones who believe that finished means finished. For me, this is actually rather simple and not that difficult to understand. When a show is finished, it has done what it wanted to. The main characters grew, they saved the world and they became lovers or something else. You get it. In a show where the main characters saved the world, there is nothing to continue with. Develop the relationships, the mythology or other nonsense? What would be the point of that, when the story is over? It would not hold as a reason for a new season. What about introducing a new enemy, meaning it would be a mindless rehash of the first season? Come on.

I am not completely opposed to the idea of releasing some bonus episodes directed to the fans though. If the directors really want to, let them create some bonus episodes of fan service (not that kind of fan service) or something like that. It will be pure feel-good enjoyment for the fans. I am one of the persons who sure enjoyed an OVA like that. It was the new Toradora episode bundled with the Blu-ray release of the series, an episode I had been longing for ever since I first heard of it (in the end, it was very well-handled!). Toradora means so much to me that I would not mind a second season of nonsense; I just want to see the characters move again.

See, I can understand people who crave for sequels to finished anime. But when it comes down to it, I would say no to a sequel to Toradora. It would most likely ruin what is already near perfect; it would drag on beyond its natural length. And truth be told, it would probably not even be fun to watch. If anything, go with an OVA or two, but nothing more. Creating a new, big, story… why? Try to justify and convince me that a sequel is needed for a show you like.

In April this year, we have the upcoming sequel to Eureka Seven called Eureka Seven Ao. So far, not much is known about it. But what piqued my interested in the synopsis was the following:

“A mysterious entity called “Secret” suddenly appears and launches an attack on the Scub Coral lifeform on the island. Ao launches a certain military FP called “Nirvash” aboard a Japanese military transport in his fervent desire to protect the island.”

So, here we have Scub Coral and Nirvash once again. But oh, what is this? A mysterious entity called “Secret” shows up and does bad stuff? Is this not the exact same thing as the first series already? Why do we need a sequel? Answer: milking a well-known franchise. It is always easier to use big names instead of starting from scratch.

Before I completely wander off into the territory of not making any sense at all (doubt I made any so far, though), I want to ask you about your thoughts on this matter. How do you feel about sequels? I find it simple to explain to me, finished is finished, but harder to others. It is such a vague topic.

“> trying to determine the worth of television entertainment by “necessity”

lolwhat.

It’s as “necessary” as any other television show is. If you’re not interested, don’t watch.”

People like you annoy me.

37 thoughts on “It Does Not Need Another Season

  1. Kuuki says:

    Mostly, as you said, finished is finished, and no I wouldn’t want a sequel to Toradora, or Madoka.
    Most of the time the viewer can feel when a sequel is there just to make money, it just doesn’t feel the same as the previous season, it lacks something, like Darker than Black. Or even Death Note though it’s not really the same situation.
    On the other hand they could make as many seasons of Natsume as they want I’ll be happy, because the structure of the anime makes it so.

    In the end, I’m going to say it depends on the anime, there are anime you can expand and others you can’t. And others that would have benefited from being less long.
    But whatever it is as long as I loved what came before I’m going to watch the sequel anyway because, even if I know I won’t like it, I became so attached to the characters I can’t refrain myself.

    • Marow says:

      Yes, the structure of it depends. It also depends on how the new season will work. Prequel? Sequel? Side-story? Other characters point of view?

      I find that the latter is the most interesting alternative, as it can broaden a show. I haven’t watched Last Exile, but that is somewhat close to what I mean, judging from what people say. Not exactly, but close to.
      Why not make a show where we follow the “villains” from the first series? Could be great if pulled off right!

      Natsume could work forever, as it does not really have a “plot”. But I think we would all grow tired of repetition if it went on forever.

  2. tsurugiarashix says:

    You can always expect directors to “try” to get another season or sequel even when it is not needed. If a series is well-received and does well (aka sells well), the directors usually try to get another season going or at least another project to accompany it. The studios do “waste” a lot of money producing Anime (If I remember like one episode cost a lot itself. Can’t remember the figure), so even though DVD/BD sales do not cover it, it is usually enough to for them to at least try another season.

    Besides reasons other than collecting capital, it just depends on the staff involved. Sometimes they produce another season due to fan commentary or wishes or often times to just to try something new the same old thing to see if catches on. Their are just so many arbitrary factors involved as their is predictable (obvious) ones, so it really does just depends.

    • Marow says:

      Aren’t the company behind the Twilight-movies trying to make a new one that isn’t based on any books, just because of of the high sales? “It’s too great to leave untouched” or something. Felt a bit sad when I read that.

      I have also heard that anime is super-expensive to make. With that in mind, it is understandable they place their money on safe choices. I mean, buying anime in Japan is expensive too, so one failure will probably affect the company a lot. Maybe the industry should change altogether?

  3. Hogart says:

    Finished is finished. Purposely not finished is also finished. Unfinished is unfinished, and might deserve another season.

    What I mean is, if the story’s over, or it purposely prolongs itself just because there’s a chance at a sequel, then forget it.. it’s not worth it. But if the story is unfinished and was worth watching, and it deserves closure, then a sequel might be worth it.

    Examples: Eureka Seven is in the first category. Maria+Holic is in the second. Spice and Wolf is in the third.

    But the problem is that stuff that deserves a sequel/extra season is rarely what is popular enough to get green-lit for another one.. there are too many popular franchises that are more likely to make more money, even if they have to dig up the dead horse to beat it some more.

    • Marow says:

      I see what you mean.

      Eureka Seven is finished. Over.

      Maria Holic manga is ongoing, while anime has ended. A new season could be created, but it doesn’t even need a closure.

      Spice and Wolf light novel has finished, but the anime hasn’t covered it all. There isn’t a “proper” conclusion in that case, even if it must have some kind of ending in the anime (I haven’t watched it).

  4. draggle says:

    One type of unneeded sequel I tend to like is where the series is set in the same universe but has nothing else in common. For example, every Gundam series ever, every Leiji Matsumoto series ever, the new Last Exile, and Fate / Zero. As long as its not a “direct” sequel following the same characters in the future, I think there’s a lot of potential for sequels to series that even seem complete.

    • Marow says:

      I like it when it shows the perspective of other characters in the same universe. As mentioned above, the first season covers the good side while the second covers the bad.

  5. Cholisose says:

    This was kind of the sentiment I was feeling when I watched the first few episodes of the Last Exile sequel. At first I was kind of excited, since I really liked Last Exile, but I quickly realized that it just wasn’t interesting me. Perhaps this was largely because I felt the Last Exile had a complete, done and done ending, and this sequel didn’t seem to be as… intelligent about things as the first show. The setting and graphics were there, but the new characters just didn’t interest me. =/

    Darker than Black, I feel, is also a decent example of an unnecessary sequel, especially when it seemed to really go out of its way to go against most everything that was good about the first season (ie Hei being awesome).

    In the case of Natsume Yuujinchou, these new seasons are not actually sequels, but just a continuation of the story that’s still going on in the manga. Natsume has not reached any kind of ending point yet, and may not for a long time to come, since it’s (generally) an episodic series. The fact that there are subplots and recurring characters though means that there probably will be an ending one day, which I think is always a good thing. A good story IMO has a beginning, middle, and end–not just a beginning and infinite rehash.

    • Marow says:

      I’m afraid I haven’t watched Last Exile nor Darker than Black, but I can understand what you mean. Kind of like every Final Fantasy game, haha? 😀

      Beginning, middle and end. That’s it! Top it off with proper pacing and we have a winner~

  6. Muse says:

    This is why I’m conflicted about the Madoka movies. New animated sequences? Sure. Continuation of the plot? Eh… I kinda like it where it is.

  7. feal87 says:

    I do think that sequels in some situation are good. It all depends on how the story concluded itself, for example in Eureka Seven’s case it’s pure foolishness to continue the story after the good ending of the original one…:(

  8. The true ending of deathnote to me will always be when L dies.

    After that it just feels forced. I think the only reason it continued was because Light was actually more of a villain instead of the protagonist.

    Higurashi Rei and Kira are also examples. they are purely episodic and are completely unneeded.

    • Marow says:

      It felt like Death Note dragged on in the second half, it had lost its touch. Kind of sad to an otherwise great series.

      I haven’t watched Higurashi, but I heard Rei and Kira are really dumb.

  9. inushinde says:

    There’s rarely a show that ever really “needs” a sequel. As much as I loved ARIA and look forward to Natsume with each passing week, both just didn’t need to have more episodes. Granted, it’s not like they’re cheap cash-ins, but the principle’s the same.

    But there are definitely shows that are actually harmed by sequels, and these tend to be the more plot-centric series. Of course there are exceptions, as there are with everything, but it’s a good rule of thumb that any plot-heavy series that has a sequel has less of a chance of staying afloat.

  10. Nopy says:

    I think an anime should get a sequel if it needs it. To make a sequel just for the sake of making more money usually ruins the series. The first one that comes to mind is Bleach. For me, that anime ended when they rescued Rukia from Soul Society and everyone returned to Earth, the rest is unnecessary. On the other hand, series like Martian Successor Nadesico need a sequel severely in order to answer numerous unanswered questions and unresolved conflicts.

    In the end, I think it boils down to how complete the story is.

    • Marow says:

      Bleach is just out there doing its own thing (=nothing). I don’t even get it anymore. After Soul Society it ended for me. Naruto has that feeling too, but far from as bad as Bleach.

      I watched Nadesico as a kid, so I don’t remember any stuff like that. But you’re probably right. 😀

  11. du5k says:

    This reminds me of Gundam Seed. GSD shouldn’t have existed.

    While I agree that some stories should stay “finished”, I’m all for creating a brand new story based on a well-established premise, because it presents a better opportunity for an excellent story. I don’t really consider stuff like Eureka 7 Ao isn’t exactly a sequel, since the story of Renton and Eureka has ended. I don’t mind seeing the couple reappearing and taking a minor role, though.

    • Marow says:

      It really depends on the franchise. I personally feel there isn’t anything to add or continue with in the E7-universe. But if you do a side story to Bleach, following another Soul Reaper, it would work better imo. There’s something binding Bleach and the side story together (ghosts). In E7, there will be Nirvash and Scub Coral? It’s like creating a side story to Bleach where only Ichigo’s sword is left. Pointless.

  12. Hurvilo says:

    The problem is, a lot of series (mostly manga adaptions) don’t end. They just sort of stop. These series are in grave need of sequels. I’m talking Pandora Hearts and Claymore, series that didn’t even try to end in a semi satisfying way. God damn, I would kill for a sequel to either. Or a remake top-to-bottom, FMA: Brotherhood-style.

    But when a story is actually over, there is rarely a need for a sequel. Last Exile 2 turned out to be a waste of money and time, and I fear the same will happen with Eureka Seven 2. But there are exceptions. I see you have a pic of Stocking in this post, and I would be very happy to get a sequel to PSG. Not because the story needs it – it’s bullshit anyway, which Gainax made absolutely clear in the final episode – but because the first season was a hotpot of utter insanity, crazy ideas with little to no relation thrown around whitin the frames of a loosely defined universe. It is the spirit of PSG I want resurrected, and what better way to do that than a sequel?

    • Marow says:

      PSG2 could or could not work. It’s so wacky that anything could happen! But if it’s about the spirit of the show, I know I would want something completely new, as a sequel could ruin the spirit of the original 🙂

  13. Scamp says:

    You know, while I hate trying to force a story beyond its natural ending, I am totally cool with revisiting something popular and doing something new with it that doesn’t change the ending it had. While I have other problems with this new Last Exile, they managed to make a totally new story that doesn’t mess with what the original achieved while still keeping the same feel. That’s what the new Eureka Seven looks like, and I’m cool with that. It’s only when it comes to the stage Gundam is at where even the formula is getting old that you have to pack that shit in

    • Marow says:

      Mighty Scamp!

      If it’s showing different sides of the same thing as the original (Last Exile Fam), I’m okay with it. If it’s just… for the sake of doing it (E7 Ao), I can’t help but wonder why.

      Gundam is crazy. So much.

  14. Agreed. Sometimes sequels work. More often than not, however, they just don’t, and not just in anime, but in movies, books, and video games as well. Did turning Jaws into a franchise satisfy anybody? Did anyone not shudder experiencing Final Fantasy X-2? Fans should be cautious of what they wish for. What they get might not be what they had in mind.

    • Marow says:

      “Fans should be cautious of what they wish for. What they get might not be what they had in mind.”

      You hit the nail on the head there. And don’t mention Jaws, you’re making me sick again… damn you sequels!

  15. […] The movie is interesting in itself, as it could either be a prequel, an alternative version or a parallel world. You have to choose yourself. But the fact that it was not needed remains. It was superfluous. And I worry that this series also is. I do not like unnecessary sequels. […]

  16. Musha Slater says:

    Code Geass and Death Note has a sequel? No way! Toradora? Bring it on! By my opinion, Ryuji and Taiga has a lot to offer. There are so many aspects of their relationship that can be exploited. Plus, the story is slice -of -life. There will always be something to tell. I don’t think a Toradora sequel would.hurt the story much.

    • Marow says:

      Afraid I don’t agree! And besides, the light novels are finished.
      Exactly where would it go? The romance between the main characters are perfect. It’s not like Clannad, who had character arcs and a sick main character.

      • Musha Slater says:

        Different people, different views. You have a point, though. The light novel are finished so it would be totally anime -only adaptation. But if the writer continued with the light novel, I think there would be more to tell. I mean Ryuji is a couple with Taiga but in college, there are many obstacles and girls. A jealous Taiga? I would definately like to see that. In the end, we know that they would be married with each other but to me, its the journey there that matters and with Toradora, I bet it would be a fun and exciting journey.

      • Musha Slater says:

        I’m afraid I didn’t tell enough. In my mind, a Toradora sequel will be set in their college years and the second season would end with Ryuji and Taiga’s wedding ceremony. At least, that is what I imagined would give the best entertainment. Plus, I always regard the end of Toradora as a cliffhanger, albeit one without a chance of continuation.

      • Marow says:

        I just can’t see how it would be a pleasant show if there will be angst and drama.

        The new OVA of Toradora served as both a flashback and an epilogue, just so you know!

  17. […] that is another problem with all this: so far, there is no real justification for AO to exist. It was only created to make money. And now it seems like a typical villain, or something along […]

  18. marco says:

    People can talk forever about however something should be, but if they aren’t involved in making it their opinion of what else could be done is irrelevent. When they stop making a show it is finished (even if it didn’t have an ending). Thinking simply like this makes me not care one way or another about things not in my control. I take it for what it is & move on, as the author suggests other fans should do.

What Do You Think?

